The Jazz Emporium

Let's get our Vintage on!

Guest Blog by Jessica James: Muppet Time!

2 Comments

Editor’s note: Our sincere apologies this post was meant to go live last Saturday. Due to the timely nature of the post we felt that we should put it up as soon as possible. Regular scheduling of Jess’ guest blog posts will continue from this Saturday. 

This past week was the one-year anniversary of the Christchurch earthquake that shook New Zealand’s foundations and stole away my very best gal pal, Rachel Conley. In her honor, I went to go see The Muppets Movie this past week, and I’ve been meditating on the term ‘muppet.’ Why is the term “muppet” considered an insult?? The Muppets are the best thing since sliced bread, and I’m utterly delighted they are being introduced to a whole new generation of kiddos!

Kermit is a classy and kind frog, always seeing the best in people. Rach happened to be a big fan of this little fellow. Now I see they have more in common than an appreciation for the color green. Personally, I’ve always appreciated Miss Piggy’s flair for the dramatic. She was a key figure in my childhood, and Mom actually did an excellent impression of Angry Miss Piggy with much face squishing and exclamations. Wish I had a wee video clip to illustrate my point. My only reservation was that I didn’t think Miss Piggy actually truly really deeply loved Kermit. With time and experience I’ve come to see the error in my beliefs. Their relationship is more complicated than Cinderella and Prince Charming. As a youngster I was unable to fully process its depth and meaning. Miss Piggy is a feisty lady with a heart of gold, who loves Kermie with her whole muppet soul. It should also be noted that Miss Piggy’s Parisian inspired wardrobe in the new film is the essence of elegance.

Och, and don’t forget about the Swedish Chef! There is a rumor circulating, saying that the Swedish Chef is actually speaking Swedish. Well push me over with a feather! I always thought it was just gobbledygook.

Whoever dressed Amy Adams had me green with envy; I wanted to snatch every single one of her outfits. This film made me forget my troubles, as cheesy as that sounds. I was grinning like a fool throughout the entire thing, as I was transformed into a giggling child. According to Kermit, laughter is the 3rd greatest gift in the world, coming just and ice cream. Approved!

Rachel Conley was incredibly dear to me. This past year has drifted by in a sort of time-warp fashion, and I will be relieved when this emotion packed season ends and Spring begins. Not only did Rach have crazy awesome fashion sense, but also like Kermit, she saw the good in every single person. Even now, she inspires me to be a better and more adventurous person. I continue to have moments when I forget she is gone, and yes, it still hurts like H-E-double hockey sticks. I miss that crazy wench!

2 thoughts on “Guest Blog by Jessica James: Muppet Time!

  1. Sorry for your pal and thumbs up for the Muppets.

  2. dont know what to say how very sweet like rach!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!we miss her

Leave a Reply

