The Jazz Emporium

Let's get our Vintage on!

Guest Post by Anneleen: My Vintage Makeover!

1 Comment


The majority of the time, I like to stay safely behind the camera, but last Saturday was a special occasion. I was down in Sheffield – the home town that I heart – and visited their huge Vintage Fair that they host in the town hall, with my cousin in tow for company. Such was its popularity that we had to queue for twenty minutes to even get in! Once inside however, it was clearly worth it, in particular for the vintage beauty salon!


We decided to treat ourselves and get our hair and make-up done. I opted for a 40’s style curl with victory rolls; my fringe fashioned into betty bangs, complimented by bright red lips. I am not sure I could ever have sculpted my fine, unruly hair into such a style myself – especially not the gravity-defying victory rolls which stayed in place until the wee small hours. My cousin Dawn went for a little more understated, but very elegant, side parting and curl that reminded me of the 1950s screen sirens. I think you will agree she is quite the blonde bombshell!

The pampering was furthered by complimentary tea and cupcakes – my own was an amazing black forest gateau one, which was simply delicious!

The stylist (with the most amazing beehive I’ve ever seen!) was Amy Dutronc, of Audrey and Evelyn Vintage Parlour (named after her glamorous grandma and great-grandma). She has been styling her own hair in a variety of retro do’s for years, using her enthusiasm & talent professionally as a stylist for films, music videos and fashion shoots for 15 years. Currently in the process of setting up her own business, she brings her skills to vintage fairs but also plans to have a permanent base in Bang Bang vintage in Sheffield. I will definitely be toddling along there in future trips home…

Check out Audrey and Evelyn’s facebook for your own vintage hair inspiration and details of where to find Amy next!

One thought on “Guest Post by Anneleen: My Vintage Makeover!

  1. Pingback: the writing bug | snapandstitch

Leave a Reply

